Teams named for 2012 ITU Mixed Relay World Championships

by Merryn Sherwood on 25 Aug, 2012 09:12 • Español
Teams named for 2012 ITU Mixed Relay World Championships

All countries have revealed their team line-ups for the fourth edition of the ITU Mixed Relay World Championships in Stockholm.

Last year in Lausanne, the British team of Alistair Brownlee, Jonathan Brownlee, Helen Jenkins and Jodie Stimpson triumphed. This year, Jonathan Brownlee will team up with William Clarke, Vicky Holland and Non Stanford to try and defend their title.

Their biggest competition is set to come from Germany and France. Germany’s team claimed third last year, even after waiting to serve a penalty, they just held on to beat France who finished in fourth place. This year Germany’s team is Steffen Justus, Gregor Bucholz, Anja Knapp and Anne Haug.

The French team will also be super speedy, with Tony Moulai, Vincent Luis, Carole Peon and Jessica Harrison.

Russia is also one to watch with the team of Irina Abysova, Dmitry Polyanskiy, Alexandra Razarenova and Alexander Bryukhankov.

Two-time champions Switzerland will start with Melanie Annaheim, followed by Andrea Salvisberg, Celine Schaerer and Patrick Rhyner.

Sweden’s team at home will be led off by yesterday’s women’s winner Lisa Norden, followed by Per Wangel, Asa Annerstedt and Joel Vikner.

Other teams to watch for include:
Spain - Mario Mola, Fernando Alarza, Ainhoa Murua and Caroline Routier

Australia - Erin Densham, Dan Wilson, Natalie Van Coevorden and Aaron Royle

New Zealand - Kris Gemmell, Nicky Samuels, Rebecca Kingsford and Ryan Sissons

Italy - Alice Betto, Alessandro Fabian, Annamaria Mazzetti and Davide Uccellari

Czech Republic - Vendula Frintova, Jan Celustka, Radka Vodickova and Premysl Svarc.

United States - Tanelle Berard, Jarrod Shoemaker, Lindsey Jerdonek and Tommy Zaferes

Netherlands - Maaike Caelers, Jan Van Berkel, Danne Boterenbrood and Bas Diederen

Hungary - Margit Vanek, Akos Vanek, Zsofia Kovacs and Gabor Faldum

Canada - Lauren Campbell, Andrew Yorke, Joanna Brown, Alexander Hinton

Japan - Yuko Takahashi, Kohei Tsubaki, Yuka Sato and Kohei Shimomura

Belgium - Katrien Verstufyt, Simon De Cuyper, Sofie Hooge and Peter Croes

South Africa - Gillian Sanders, Wian Sullwald, Carlyn Fischer and Rudolph Naude

Brazil - Pamela Oliveira, Paulo Maciel, Luisa Baptista and Rafael Fonseca

Ukraine - Inna Ryzhykh, Olelsey Syutkin, Yuliya Yelistratova, Pevtsov Rostyslav

Two National Federations have entered two teams, including Great Britain and Germany. Great Britain’s second team is Katie Hewison, Tim Don, Lois Rosindale and David McNamee, while Germany’s second team is Kathrin Mueller, Christian Prochnow, Rebecca Robisch and Franz Loeschke.

Triathlon Mixed Relay consists of teams of four athletes: two men and two women, who will compete in the order of woman, man, woman, man. Each athlete completes a super-sprint triathlon of swimming, biking and running, in Stockholm a 300m swim, 6km bike and 2km run, before handing over to their next team mate. The first team across the finish line is the winner.

There have been four editions of the ITU Mixed Relay World Championships. Switzerland won the first two titles, in 2009 and 2010, before Great Britain’s dream team won it in 2011.

The Mixed Relay is a stadium event focused around the transition zone, with the athletes retuning on average every five to eight minutes creating a special atmosphere and memorable moments for committed fans and television viewers alike. The short distances, and numerous transitions results in non-stop action from start to finish, with the possibility of upsets at any stage. 

The mixed relay made its major games debut at the inaugural Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games, and has been included on the programme for the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games and the 2014 Incheon Asian Games.

Click here to read more on ITU Mixed Relay

Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →