Tokyo 2020 race numbers allocated to the 38 National Federations heading to the Games

by on 02 Jul, 2021 12:16 • Español
Tokyo 2020 race numbers allocated to the 38 National Federations heading to the Games

The race number allocation draw for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Triathlon races took place on Friday 2 July live on, allocating the transition spots for the 38 National Federations to have qualified athletes for the Olympic Games.

One side of the Olympic Triathlon transition is numbered 1-29 (excluding number 13), the other numbered 30-56, with National Federations with more than one athlete always allocated consecutive numbers.

With the final names of the athletes and start lists to be confirmed in the coming days, the Olympic Triathlon races - men’s 26 July, women’s 27 July, mixed relay 31 July - are coming up fast. Don’t forget to follow all of the build up, including exclusive interviews and a brand new episode of the TriathlonLive Show out on Monday 5 July, via our social media channels and and the hashtag #Tokyo2020Triathlon.


Female race- race number allocation


You can watch again the draw on

Olympic Triathlon:

A total of 38 NOCs have qualified athletes for the Tokyo 2020 Games.

Out of these 38 nations, Morocco, Egypt and Romania have qualified a spot for the first time in the history of Olympic Triathlon.

Four NOCs - Australia, Great Britain, Italy & USA - were able to qualify a maximum of three women for the Tokyo Olympics.

Another four NOCs - Australia, Spain, France and Norway - have managed to qualify the maximum number of three men to compete in Tokyo.

Only Australia will have the maximum of six athletes competing in Tokyo 2020.

A total of 18 teams will line up for the debut of the Mixed Relay at the Olympics.

Of those…
- Seven qualified through the Mixed Relay rankings - Australia, France, USA, Great Britain, New Zealand, Germany & the Netherlands.
- Three qualified at the Mixed Relay Qualification Event in Lisbon - Belgium, Italy & Switzerland.
- Japan qualified a team as host country.
- A further 7 NFs qualified by having at least two men and two women in Tokyo via the individual rankings - Austria, Canada, Spain, Hungary, Mexico, South Africa & ROC.

Athletes wearing the number 34 may have an extra lucky start in the Olympics - the number 34 athlete has already won 3 Olympic medals (1 gold and 2 bronze).

There also may be good luck for athletes wearing start numbers in the thirties - five Olympic gold medals have gone to athletes wearing start numbers 30-39.

However, both of Bevan Docherty’s (NZL) medals came while wearing the number 27.

The lowest start number to take home a medal is 5 (Alistair Brownlee (GBR) in Rio 2016.

Anja Dittmer (GER), Hunter Kemper (USA), Simon Whitfield (CAN), Ainhoa Murua (ESP), Hirokatsu Tayama (JPN), Nicola Spirig (SUI) & Sven Riederer (SUI) are currently triathlon’s only four-time Olympians. This year, Dmitry Polyanskiy (ROC), Vendula Frintova (CZE), Flora Duffy (BER), Yuliya Yelistratova (UKR) & Barbara Riveros (CHI) will join that select club.

Nicola Spirig will be the first and only triathlete to have competed in 5 Olympic Games, winning a medal in two of them (London 2012 and Rio 2016).

Two women and three men on the Tokyo 2020 Olympic start lists have won triathlon medals in previous editions of the Olympic Games – Nicola Spirig and Vicky Holland (GBR) on the women’s side, Jonathan Brownlee (GBR), Henri Schoeman (RSA) and Javier Gomez Noya (ESP) on the men’s.

47 of the 110 men and women due to be racing in Tokyo have already competed in at least one Olympic Games.

Article gallery
Related Event: Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games
26 - 31 Jul, 2021 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Kristian Blummenfelt NOR 01:45:04
2. Alex Yee GBR 01:45:15
3. Hayden Wilde NZL 01:45:24
4. Marten Van Riel BEL 01:45:52
5. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:45:53
Results: Elite Women
1. Flora Duffy BER 01:55:36
2. Georgia Taylor-Brown GBR 01:56:50
3. Katie Zaferes USA 01:57:03
4. Rachel Klamer NED 01:57:48
5. Leonie Periault FRA 01:57:49
Results: Mixed Relay
1. Team I Great Britain GBR 01:23:41
2. Team I United States USA 01:23:55
3. Team I France FRA 01:24:04
4. Team I Netherlands NED 01:24:34
5. Team I Belgium BEL 01:24:36
Tracker Pixel for Entry