Preview: Crucial WTS Points on the line at ITU World Triathlon Yokohama

by Erin Greene on 24 Sep, 2012 10:36 • Español
Preview: Crucial WTS Points on the line at ITU World Triathlon Yokohama

With the Grand Final of the ITU World Triathlon Series fast approaching, precious WTS rankings points are at stake at the penultimate stop in Yokohama this weekend. Andrea Hewitt (NZL) returns from a short break in racing, making the women’s competition more fierce than ever. In contrast, while key players in the men’s race are missing, racing will be anything but lacking as athletes gun for important points.

This year, athletes will start with a two-lap 750m swim in the sea near Osambashi pier. An Olympic distance race, the bike and run legs start and finish in Yamashita park and in and around Yokohama’s waterfront. The bike snakes around the giant Cosmo Clock 21 Ferris Wheel, while the run will take athletes around the Kanagawa Prefectural Government Building.

Women’s Preview
Following the London 2012 Olympic Games, previous WTS series leader Andrea Hewitt (NZL) opted to sit out the Stockholm race in lieu of recovering from the Games. However, after her lead slipped to Olympic bronze medallist Erin Densham (AUS), Hewitt returns to WTS racing in Japan with her eye on a world championship. Yokohama has done Hewitt well in previous years, with the Kiwi winning in 2011 and collecting silver in 2009. Her podium history, hunger to regain the top ranking, and fresh racing legs could make Hewitt incredibly dangerous.

However, Hewitt will face severe competition for that No. 1 spot on the leaderboard. Densham has been unstoppable this season, having made the podium in all but one race since March. Her only slip was in Stockholm, but her fifth-place finish was good enough to give her the top WTS ranking by 470 points. While the Aussie has yet to race in Yokohama, her form this year makes her a serious threat for the podium.  Densham won’t be the only Aussie contender in Yokohama with Ashleigh Gentle (AUS) and Emma Moffatt (AUS) set to start as well.

Lisa Norden (SWE), who has been on fire since her silver medal in London, will also line up in the Japanese coastal city. Norden won the last WTS race on home soil in Stockholm, which moved her into fourth place on the charts. Like Hewitt, Norden has experienced great success on the Yokohama course, having won in 2009.

The host country itself will feature a deep pool of talent with 2012 Olympians Mariko Adachi, Juri Ide, and Ai Ueda ready to dazzle their compatriots. Last year, huge crowds poured out to support the athletes, which will no doubt assist the Japanese in their vision for glory.

Other dangerous competitors include Sarah Groff (USA), who returns to competition after just missing a medal in London. Hewitt’s teammate Kate McIlroy (NZL), who recorded a bronze medal performance last year, is one to look out for. With the absence of Olympic gold medallist Nicola Spirig (SUI) from the start list, look for Anne Haug (GER), who sits in fifth in the rankings and recently finished fourth in Stockholm, to push the pace to improve her ranking. Although Barbara Riveros Diaz (CHI) experienced a disappointing finish in London, she returned to form in Stockholm with a third place finish and will be a name to look for in Yokohama.

Click here for the women’s start list

Men’s Preview
While the women’s race sees the return of top competitors, the men’s race is void of its top two ranked athletes. Though Jonathan Brownlee sits with more than a 500-point lead, he opted not to race in Yokohama, which could be risky with several men gunning for his spot. In an equally risky choice, men’s second-ranked Alexander Bryukhankov (RUS) pulled out from Yokohama, giving room for No. 3 Javier Gomez to overtake the number two slot.

Although Olympic silver medallist Gomez sits 380 points behind Bryukhankov, he could capitalize on the opportunity to score his first victory of the ITU season. With Alistair Brownlee (GBR) missing from the line up, as well as out of contention for the world title, Gomez will undoubtedly be looking to reclaim the world title, and hence critical points in Yokohama.

Similarly, Sven Riederer (SUI) will take advantage of the opportunity to add points to his fourth-place ranking, as well as the French duo of Laurent Vidal and David Hauss. Dmitry Polyanskiy (RUS), who recently won the Tongyeong World Cup, will jockey with the group for a higher position as he wears number three on the start list in Japan. Polyanskiy will have strong assistance from his Russian teammates, as his brother Igor Polyanskiy will line up alongside him, as well as Ivan Vasiliev and Denis Vasiliev.

Last year Joao Silva (POR) broke through for his first series victory with an impressive performance and he is back to defend his title.  His best performance this year was finishing 9th at the London Olympic Games.

Like the women’s race, Japan will showcase its full contingency of Olympians, which includes Yuichi Hosoda and Hirokatsu Tayama.

Click here for the men’s start list

The women’s race will go off first at 8:05am local time on Saturday 29 September. The men’s race will get underway three hours later at 11:00am. Follow all the events live through with timing and text updates, at You can also follow along on Twitter at

Article gallery
Related Event: 2012 ITU World Triathlon Yokohama
29 - 30 Sep, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Lisa Norden SWE 01:59:07
2. Anne Haug GER 01:59:07
3. Maaike Caelers NED 01:59:12
4. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:59:17
5. Erin Densham AUS 01:59:22
Results: Elite Men
1. Joao Silva POR 01:48:44
2. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:48:57
3. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:49:10
4. Laurent Vidal FRA 01:49:22
5. David Hauss FRA 01:49:43
Results: Para Triathlon Male TRI-2
1. Atsushi Yamamoto JPN 01:46:17
2. Taichi Takeuchi JPN 02:25:29
Results: Para Triathlon Male TRI-4
1. Arata Higuchi JPN 02:14:22
Results: Para Triathlon Male TRI-5
1. Toshio Furuhata JPN 01:11:52
2. Nobuyuki Domon JPN 01:24:15
3. Michiaki Tashita JPN 01:52:47
Results: Para Triathlon Male TRI-6
1. Ryu Nakazawa B2 JPN 01:23:52
2. Harumi Yanagawa JPN 01:30:06
3. Keiji Nagai B1 JPN 01:32:04
4. Toshihiro Shirae JPN 01:35:09
5. Hitoki Kubono JPN 01:45:00
Results: Para Triathlon Female TRI-6
1. Atsuko Maruo B2 JPN 01:45:47
Results: Para Triathlon Male TRI-3
1. Kenji Hashimoto JPN 01:26:29
2. Shigeyuki Sugawara JPN 01:47:52
DSQ. Miho Hamada JPN DSQ
Results: Para Triathlon Female TRI-5
1. Mami Tani JPN 01:42:52
Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →