European Triathlon Championships set for Turkey

by David Peddie on 11 Jun, 2013 08:56 • Español

As is becoming customary in ITU racing, fast running will no doubt shape the podium this weekend in the elite races at the 2013 Alanya ETU Triathlon European Championships. With backhalf speedsters like Non Stanford, Mario Mola and Alessandro Fabian on the women’s and men’s start lists, expect this year’s championship to come down to a smoking battle on the finish chute.

Elite Women
Germany’s Rebecca Robisch appears to be in excellent form. She has finished second in every International race in 2013, at Quarteira, Antalya and Cremona.
Will it be fourth time lucky for Robisch to take top spot? Although cementing a podium place in a European Championship, where her previous best has been 14th in Athlone in 2010, would be a huge result for the German.

Agnieszka Jerzyk (POL) also comes into the race in fine form following victory at the ITU European Cup in Banyoles early last month. But the saying goes: form is temporary, class is permanent and among the field is a dearth of talent and experience and the likes of Vendula Frintova (CZE), Emmie Charayron (FRA), Rachel Klamer (NED) and Ainhoa Murua (ESP) are but a handful of contenders.

2011 European Champion Charayron couldn’t quite defend her title in Eilat last year, but still secured a third place podium finish. Murua was runner up last year and already has a podium place under her belt this year from Banyoles. Frintova hasn’t raced on European soil since the World Series race in Stockholm in August last year but is a quality performer.

Elite Women Start List

Elite Men
Russia’s Ivan Vasiliev may be the man to watch this year. With a bronze medal at last year’s European Championships, he currently sits fifth in the World Rankings after four races of the World Triathlon Series, but is coming into form with a 4th place at Yokohama and 3rd place in Madrid. The most encouraging aspect for Vasiliev is his pedigree here in Alanya. In 2012, he won the European Cup race and he finished 3rd in the 2011 European Cup. Although the course has been tweaked since those events he is clearly fond of this location.

In the absence of defending Champion Javier Gomez and double European Champion Alistair Brownlee, the men’s race is wide open. With Jonny Brownlee also absent, British interest will fall on Adam Bowden, who has impressed with two top 8 finishes in the World Triathlon Series this year.

Compatriot Dmitry Polyanskiy will fight closely with Vasiliev, as will the French pair of Pierre Le Corre and Vincent Luis. Vicente Hernandez (ESP) has impressed this year and has two third place finishes to his name at Quarteira and Banyoles.

The experience of countryman Mario Mola, currently third in the world Rankings, could benefit both athletes. Like Mola, Alessandro Fabian (ITA) will be one to watch for on the run. Vasiliev and company will want to break on the bike if they want a chance holding off these speedsters on the run.

Another one to watch will be Italian Matthias Steinwandter. The 2012 European Junior Champion has made the step up to elite level this year and after dominating the junior scene over the last couple of years it will be interesting to see his progress.

Elite Men Start List

The women will take off on Friday at 4:00pm local time, while the men will race on Saturday at 3:00pm. The championships will also welcome U23, junior, paratriathlon and age group races. For more information, click here. 

Article gallery
Related Event: 2013 Alanya ETU Triathlon European Championships
14 - 16 Jun, 2013 • event pageall results
Results: 16-19 Female AG Sprint
1. Clover Murray GBR 01:08:22
2. Molly Mckenzie GBR 01:08:46
3. Isabel Steele GBR 01:09:00
4. Rebecca Ladyman GBR 01:09:02
5. Whitney Larkin GBR 01:09:11
Results: 16-19 Male AG Sprint
1. Alastair Rogers IRL 00:58:22
2. Kieran Hill GBR 00:58:26
3. Nicholas Haworth GBR 00:58:43
4. Oliver Swallow GBR 00:58:59
5. Tom Stead GBR 01:00:01
Results: 18-19 Male AG
1. Patrick Cutmore GBR 02:04:25
2. James Briscoe GBR 02:10:30
3. Bjarki Freyr Rúnarsson ISL 02:11:42
4. Kurt Gunby GBR 02:30:25
Results: 20-24 Female AG
1. Hannah Cutajar MLT 02:13:05
2. Emily Whitmore GBR 02:13:25
3. Louisa Downs GBR 02:15:29
4. Hannah Johnston GBR 02:21:16
5. Emine Ulucay TUR 02:37:25
Results: 20-24 Female AG Sprint
1. Heather Sellars GBR 01:02:04
2. Sophie Edge GBR 01:07:40
3. Gemma Scott GBR 01:08:08
4. Jennifer Batey GBR 01:08:54
5. Katie Williams GBR 01:11:12
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Samuel Wade GBR 01:55:07
2. Bojan Karanovic SRB 02:01:10
3. Jonathan Yeates GBR 02:01:11
4. Iain Gillam GBR 02:01:15
5. Alfred Chapman GBR 02:03:20
Results: 20-24 Male AG Sprint
1. Simon Frederiksen DEN 00:56:57
2. Samuel Woods GBR 00:57:49
3. Callum Roberts GBR 00:58:08
4. Daniel Bigham GBR 00:58:10
5. Matthew Griffin GBR 00:58:14
Results: 25-29 Female AG
1. Carmen Macheriotou CYP 02:04:45
2. Keira Murray GBR 02:08:15
3. Maria Hivner GER 02:08:46
4. Carys Griffiths GBR 02:18:39
5. Johanna Calleja MLT 02:20:23
Results: 25-29 Female AG Sprint
1. Samantha Anderson GBR 01:05:36
2. Natalie Batey GBR 01:05:50
3. Emilie Darras FRA 01:06:36
4. Anna Seymour GBR 01:07:59
5. Claire Robson GBR 01:09:08
Results: 25-29 Male AG
1. Kevin Thornton IRL 01:52:53
2. Alex Lawton GBR 01:56:05
3. Keith Galea MLT 01:57:00
4. Zulfu Karabulut TUR 02:00:05
5. John Wood GBR 02:01:54
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →