Docherty on form for worlds!

by World Triathlon Admin on 20 Aug, 2006 12:00

Just 50 km away from Lausanne, where the 2006 ITU Triathlon World Champoinhips will be held in two weeks, Felicity Abram (AUS) and Bevan Docherty (NZL) scored impressive wins at the ITU European Cup in Geneva. Under Sunny but windy conditions Andrew Johns (GBR) renewed his second place from last year, third was Sven Riederer. For the women, the 2005 race winner Magali Di Marco Messmer made it second, followed by Italian Beatrice Lanza. Di Marco Messmer and Riederer were crowned Swiss Champion 2006. 

After the 2 lap swim in the 18 degree cold Geneva Lake Clay Fettel (AUS) reached transition eight seconds ahead of Colin Jenkins (CAN) followed by the rest of the field with Tony Moulai (FRA), Simon Whitfield (CAN). In the first bike lap fattel lost contact with the leading group. In the 40 km 6 lap bike course Riederer, Docherty, Johns, Jenkings, Andrea D’Aquino (ITA) amd Dan Alterman (ISR) had a lead of 2min 30 sec ahead of two large packs. Sven Riederer departed high speed on the lake side 10 km run course followed by Docherty and Johns. But it was the Kiwi took the lead, at half run time Docherty already was 20 m ahead of Riederer. Johns speeded up in the last lap to make it second behind Docherty but ahead of Riederer.

In the Women’s race Erin Densham (Aus) and Magali Di Marco Messmer (SUI) entered T1 after the Swim shoulder to shoulder but ahead of Liz Blatchford and Emma Moffat. While Di Marco Messmer and Lanza were riding both together in the lead in the beginning of te bike race, Abram, Blatchford, Densham, Carmel Henley (NZL) had joined the Duo the half way through. Abram set the pace in the run from the beginning on to run down Magali di Marco Messmer for 2nd place.

Click here for official men’s results.Official Results

Click here for official women’s results.Official Results

Click here for official photo gallery.

Related Event: 2006 Geneva ITU Triathlon European Cup
20 Aug, 2006 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Bevan Docherty NZL 01:59:28
2. Andrew Johns GBR 01:59:37
3. Sven Riederer SUI 02:00:01
4. Dan Alterman ISR 02:00:05
5. Andrea D'aquino ITA 02:00:39
Results: Elite Women
1. Felicity Abram AUS 02:14:11
2. Magali Di Marco Messmer SUI 02:14:47
3. Beatrice Lanza ITA 02:16:04
4. Liz Blatchford GBR 02:16:56
5. Carmel Hanly NZL 02:17:55
Tracker Pixel for Entry