2009 Perth Long Distance World Championships Preview

by Stephen Bourdeau on 22 Oct, 2009 10:15

This weekend the coastal city of Perth in Western Australia hosts the 2009 ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships and with it many of the sport’s top long distance elite. The long distance world championships is set over double the Olympic distance - 3-kilometre swim, 80-kilometre bike and 20-kilometre run.

UPDATE:  Race favourite Craig Alexander of Australia has withdrawn from the race.

Headlining the men’s race will be two-time defending champion Julien Loy of France along with his strong teammate and last year’s runner up Francois Chabaud.  Other long course stars lining up in Perth are New Zealand’s Kieran Doe and Australia’s duo of Simon Thompson and 2006 duathlon champion Leon Griffin.

The main contenders testing their long course legs this weekend will be Belgium powerhouse Axel Zeebroek, Timothy O’Donnell of the United States and 2000 Olympic bronze medallist Jan Rehula of Czech Republic. 

In the women’s event the title is up for grabs as reigning champion Chrissie Wellington in not scheduled to race.  Former ITU world champion over the Olympic distance, Leanda Cave and swim-bike extraordinaire Jodie Swallow will be the ones to fly the British flag in Perth.  However the host nation Australia will have strong challengers in Pip Taylor and Rebekah Keat.

Perth has a strong history of hosting ITU events and world championships, playing home to the 1997 and 2000 ITU Triathlon World Championships.  In both cases Australians have owned the podium taking eight of a possible 12 medals, including three gold.  This year the course features a flat and fast profile and is sure to host some quick times over the double Olympic distance.

Full start lists are available here.

Related Event: 2009 Perth ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championships
21 - 25 Oct, 2009 • event pageall results
Results: 75-79 Male AG
1. Peter Howard GBR 07:48:17
Results: 70-74 Male AG
1. David Lewington GBR 06:16:29
2. Neil Fleming NZL 06:47:20
3. John Holman USA 07:12:31
Results: 65-69 Male AG
1. Greg Sandkuhl CAN 05:11:29
2. Roger Little USA 05:59:26
3. Trevor Skewes AUS 06:19:48
4. Peter Ellis NZL 06:38:48
5. Dennis Geiser USA 06:48:42
Results: 60-64 Male AG
1. Brian Barr AUS 04:59:30
2. Mike Sandford GBR 05:17:41
3. Graham Crocker AUS 05:23:55
4. Steve Brown AUS 05:26:17
5. Brian Rabinowitz AUS 05:26:37
Results: 60-64 Female AG
1. Barbara Kostner USA 07:16:16
Results: 55-59 Male AG
1. Chris Kiley AUS 05:00:13
2. Werner Stebler SUI 05:05:09
3. Graham Plews GBR 05:06:21
4. Alan Fletcher NZL 05:11:45
5. David Whiteley AUS 05:13:21
Results: 55-59 Female AG
1. Cheryl Ogden AUS 05:24:24
2. Sue Jones NZL 05:40:59
3. Helen Freer AUS 05:59:03
4. Sylvia Dansie GBR 06:00:17
5. Anne Murrell GBR 06:09:31
Results: 50-54 Male AG
1. Kevin Fergusson AUS 04:19:43
2. Frank McShane AUS 04:42:43
3. Robert Caune AUS 04:46:09
4. Peter Kane NZL 04:48:03
5. Alan Nicholls AUS 04:48:37
Results: 50-54 Female AG
1. Judyann Cummings USA 05:00:01
2. Nancy Cullen AUS 05:11:18
3. Robyn Scott AUS 05:12:17
4. Mary Mitchell AUS 05:15:50
5. Julienne Drysdale AUS 05:19:18
Results: 45-49 Male AG
1. Walter Thorburn NZL 04:18:44
2. Stephen Farrell NZL 04:22:35
3. Gregory Ball NZL 04:25:21
4. Jeremy Smith AUS 04:31:33
5. Othmar Brügger SUI 04:34:03
Related articles
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →