About Para triathlon

Updated: 04 Mar, 2022 01:14 pm

World Triathlon has committed to supporting the development of paratriathlon for over 20 years. There are currently nine sport classes for athletes with impairments to compete in six different medal events over the sprint paratriathlon distance of 750m swim, 20km bike (handcycle/tandem), 5km run (wheelchair) at the different World Triathlon races each season, including the Para Triathlon World Triathlon Championships.

The goals of the World Triathlon Para Triathlon Committee are:

  • To oversee the development of para triathlon within the triathlon community by growing participation at all levels, building a pathway to - and developing - elite performance, evolving events and building profile.
  • To upholding ethical principles and fair play at all times including moving towards an evidence-based Classification System.
  • To work with the IPC in preparation for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games after the successful debut at Rio de Janeiro in 2016, to promote the Paralympic values and to foster the growth of para triathlon as it becomes an integral and contributing part of the Paralympic movement.

World Triathlon Para Triathlon Committee

Grant Darby - Canada (Chair)
Neil Mac Leod - Italy (Vice Chair)
Masamitsu Tomikawa - Japan
Martin Breedijk - Netherlands
Christine Palmquist - USA
Lotfi Labaied - Tunisia
Beryl Campbell - South Africa

Classification Advisory Group

Katerina Magkou -GRE - Head of Classification
Javier Martínez Gramaje - ESP - Deputy Head of Classification
Marguerite Christophers - NZL
Paul Grandjean - NED
Roberto Nahon - BRA

Eric Angstadt Torres - World Triathlon Staff representative
Dr Debbie Alexander RSA - Executive Board liaison
Ian Howard GBR - Executive Board liaison

Please contact .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for more information concerning paratriathlon.

Latest Para triathlon News