Under23 World Championship Preview

by Erin Greene on 13 Sep, 2016 01:02 • Español

The men’s Under23 World Championships will be one of the first triathlon World Champ races to kick the Grand Final off on Thursday, September 15 at 3pm. The women will follow on Friday, September 16 at 7:30am.

The Under23 athletes will complete a one 1.5km loop in the ocean, followed by eight laps over a 40km bike and ending with a four-lap 10km run.

Under23 Women

Two-time Junior World Champion Laura Lindemann might be racing as an Under23 for the first time, but expect nothing less than a medal for the young German athlete. Lindemann is fresh off a first Olympics, which is far more experience that much of the field will have. She’s no stranger to the strongest of competition, regularly competing as an elite on the World Triathlon circuit, this year having clenched two top-10 finishes.

Lindemann will have fellow Olympians Julia Hauser (AUT) and Kaidi Kivioja (EST) to contend with, along with Portugal’s Melanie Santos, who just missed out on a spot in Rio.

The British duo of Sophie Coldwell and Georgia Taylor-Brown also come to the start line packed with racing experience. Taylor-Brown also finished second in the Junior World Championships back in 2013 before skipping competition in 2014 & 2015.

Young Australian up and comers Jaz Hedgeland and Emma Jeffcoat have also been making waves as ones to watch.

Click here for the complete start list

Under23 Men
The men’s Under23 start list reads like a who’s who of up and comers for men’s triathlon. Gordon Benson (GBR), who, like Lindemann, is fresh off his first bid at the Olympics, comes to Cozumel with a year of invaluable international experience. But it is Grand Sheldon who enters the World Championship race with the highest WTS finish, having finished fourth in Edmonton earlier this month against a top field.

The British will face a strong four-deep French team lead by Simon Viain and Raphael Montoya, both of whom have been pushing the pace on the swim and bike in WTS and World Cup races.

But don’t count out Spain’s David Castro Fajardo, who finished second in the race last year. Juan Jose Andrade Figueroa (ECU), Alex Lepage (CAN), and Christophe De Keyser (BEL) all return as men in the top 10 last year.

Click here for the complete start list

Article gallery
Related Event: 2016 ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Cozumel
11 - 18 Sep, 2016 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Henri Schoeman RSA 01:46:50
2. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:47:08
3. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:47:08
4. Richard Murray RSA 01:47:35
5. Mario Mola ESP 01:47:36
Results: Elite Women
1. Flora Duffy BER 01:57:59
2. Gwen Jorgensen USA 01:59:16
3. Charlotte McShane AUS 01:59:25
4. Helen Jenkins GBR 01:59:28
5. Ai Ueda JPN 01:59:39
Results: U23 Men
1. Jorik Van Egdom NED 01:52:39
2. Manoel Messias BRA 01:53:00
3. Bence Bicsák HUN 01:53:02
4. Simon Viain FRA 01:53:12
5. Tom Richard FRA 01:53:13
Results: U23 Women
1. Laura Lindemann GER 01:59:18
2. Leonie Periault FRA 01:59:33
3. Sandra Dodet FRA 02:00:05
4. Georgia Taylor-Brown GBR 02:00:50
5. Kaidi Kivioja EST 02:01:07
Results: Junior Men
1. Austin Hindman USA 00:54:02
2. Charles Paquet CAN 00:54:12
3. Ben Dijkstra GBR 00:54:20
4. Daniel Hoy NZL 00:54:23
5. Alex Yee GBR 00:54:24
Results: Junior Women
1. Taylor Knibb USA 00:59:05
2. Lisa Tertsch GER 00:59:41
3. Hye Rim Jeong KOR 00:59:50
4. Ines Santiago Moron ESP 00:59:51
5. Cecilia Santamaria Surroca ESP 00:59:56
Results: Mixed U23-Junior Relay
1. Team I Spain ESP 01:06:29
2. Team I Great Britain GBR 01:06:33
3. Team I Australia AUS 01:06:37
4. Team I United States USA 01:06:43
5. Team I Russia RUS 01:06:46
Results: 16-19 Female AG Sprint
1. Abril M Sandoval Bernal MEX 01:05:45
2. Ivanna Cervantes Richards MEX 01:06:02
3. Lizeth Lopez Ortega MEX 01:06:14
4. Ana Celia Regalado MEX 01:06:41
5. Blythe Fourie GBR 01:06:48
Results: 16-19 Male AG Sprint
1. Nathan Breen AUS 00:58:27
2. Arturo Mateos MEX 00:58:44
3. Victor Hugo Berrones MEX 00:58:47
4. Eduardo Antonio Castellanos MEX 00:58:49
5. Diego Flores MEX 00:59:38
Results: 20-24 Female AG Sprint
1. Sara Roel MEX 01:04:36
2. Brittany Tate GBR 01:05:20
3. Vanessa Angeles Garcia MEX 01:05:24
4. Laura Mathews USA 01:05:55
5. Sofia Carolina Partida MEX 01:06:19
Tracker Pixel for Entry