Race Preview: Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Sydney

by Brad Culp on 31 Mar, 2010 05:57 • Español
A preview of the series opener and the main contenders

The world’s best triathletes will return to the site of the sport’s first Olympic Games for the kick off of the 2010 Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series in Sydney’s world famous harbour. With the impressive backdrop of the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge and the city skyline, Australia’s largest city is the perfect venue to launch the 2010 season.

As Australia’s lifestyle, business and creative capital, its international aviation gateway and a leading Asia Pacific financial centre, Sydney alone accounts for a quarter of Australia’s GDP and is the nation’s economic powerhouse.

With a culturally diverse population of 4.3 million and over 140 languages spoken, Sydney is a multiple international tourism award winner with world famous attractions, international icons and some of the best hotels in the Asia-Pacific region.

An event-rich city all year round, Sydney has hosted some of the world’s biggest events including the 2000 Olympic and Paralympic Games, Rugby World Cup 2003, APEC 2007, FIFA Congress 2008, World Youth Day 2008 and the 2009 World Masters Games.

The elite course features many of the elements that made the Olympic Games triathlon such a memorable spectacle, with the transition area at the foot of the Sydney Opera House, the 1500-metre swim in Farm Cove and 40-kilometre bike leg and 10-kilometre run taking in Macquarie Street and the Cahill Expressway, overlooking Circular Quay.

Men’s race: 7:00am 11 April 2010
Women’s race: 9:45am 11 April 2010

Ones To Watch


Bevan Docherty (NZL): 2-time Olympic medallist
Jan Frodeno (GER): 2008 Olympic gold medallist
Kris Gemmell (NZL): 8th in 2009 world rankings
Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS): Winner of 2010 Mooloolaba World Cup
Jarrod Shoemaker (USA): 10th in 2009 world rankings
Laurent Vidal (FRA): 6th in 2009 world rankings
Simon Whitfield (CAN): 2000 Olympic gold medallist, 2008 Olympic silver medallist


Sarah Haskins (USA): 4th at 2009 World Championship Grand Final
Andrea Hewitt (NZL): Winner of 2010 Oceania Championship
Helen Jenkins (GBR): 5th in 2009 world rankings
Emma Moffatt (AUS): Reigning ITU world champion
Lisa Norden (SWE): 2nd in 2009 world rankings
Daniela Ryf (SUI): 4th in 2009 world rankings

Article gallery
Related Event: 2010 Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Series Sydney
11 Apr, 2010 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Barbara Riveros CHI 02:04:19
2. Andrea Hansen NZL 02:04:19
3. Emma Moffatt AUS 02:04:20
4. Mariko Adachi JPN 02:04:30
5. Lisa Norden SWE 02:04:48
Results: Elite Men
1. Bevan Docherty NZL 01:51:27
2. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:51:33
3. David Hauss FRA 01:51:34
4. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:51:40
5. Simon Whitfield CAN 01:51:42
Tracker Pixel for Entry