Fernandes wins tenth in a row

by World Triathlon Admin on 23 Jul, 2006 12:00

A gray, misty morning welcomed the world’s top women triathletes to the 2006 Corner Brook BG Triathlon World Cup.  The elated crowds watched young phenom Vanessa Fernandes from Portugal win her tenth straight world cup in a time of 2:06:02.  She was trailed closely by Anja Dittmer from Germany and Nadia Cortassa from Italy who finished second and third respectively.

Early in the swim Sarah McLarty from the US and team mate Sarah Haskins built a lead of almost a minute and kept away from the large chase group of Fernandes, Dittmer, Cortassa, Lauren Groves (CAN), Emma Moffatt (AUS), Julie Swail (USA) and Becky LaVelle (USA). It was these two that would keep their lead on the seventeen member chase group for the entire six-lap bike course, coming into second transition over one minute ahead.

Once on the grueling run course, it was Fernandes who quickly pulled away catching Haskins and McLarty by the three kilometre mark.  After this it was a race for second place.  Dittmer and Moffatt went after Fernandes early but as the run went on, it was Moffatt who faded over the last two kilometres and fell to a fast approaching Cortassa. 

It was Samantha McGlone from Canada though who ran her way from the second chase group up to fourth place with the fastest run of the day. Moffatt rounded out the top five with another good performance following her second place finish at the Edmonton world cup only two weeks ago.

Click here for official women’s results.

Click here for the full live timing splits.

Click here to watch video from Corner Brook now.

Click here for official photo gallery.

View the new Tricast™ Live! Player now for a recap on all the days events.

Related Event: 2006 Corner Brook BG Triathlon World Cup
23 Jul, 2006 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Kris Gemmell NZL 01:54:55
2. Simon Whitfield CAN 01:55:05
3. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:55:10
4. Andy Potts USA 01:55:27
5. Ivan Raña Fuentes ESP 01:55:40
Results: Elite Women
1. Vanessa Fernandes POR 02:06:02
2. Anja Dittmer GER 02:06:26
3. Nadia Cortassa ITA 02:06:29
4. Samantha Mcglone CAN 02:06:42
5. Emma Moffatt AUS 02:06:54
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →