Balkan Championships Preview

by World Triathlon Admin on 19 Sep, 2008 12:01

This Saturday Serbia will host the Belgrade ITU Triathlon European Cup, which doubles as the Balkan Championships.  A number of Beijing Olympians will toe the start line for the elite women’s and men’s races.  Highlighting the women’s field are a trio of Olympians: Irina Abyssova of Russia, Deniz Dimaki of Greece and Zita Szabo of Hungary.  Svetlana Blazevic and Ksenija Bodlovic will carry Serbian hopes as the only Serbians in the women’s field.

Click here for complete women’s start list

On the men’s side, double Olympian Igor Sysoev will be aiming for his third straight podium in as many weeks.  The Russian has won in Poland two weeks ago and took bronze in Vienna last weekend.  He’ll wear the number one start number as he faces 49 other men in the field.  In all 18 countries are represented.  The home team includes 7 athletes including teenager Ognjen Stojanovic who’s fresh off participating in the BG-ITU European Junior Select Camp in Tiszaujvaros, Hungary this past week.  He was part of a group of 18 athletes who had the opportunity to train with some of the best coaches in Europe at the camp.  Stojanovic won a European Junior Cup in Pulpi, Spain earlier this year.

Click here for complete men’s start list

Click here for more event information

Related Event: 2008 Belgrade ETU Triathlon European Cup and Balkan Championships
20 Sep, 2008 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Lee Greer NZL 01:49:29
2. Ádám Molnár HUN 01:49:57
3. Ludovic Dernier BEL 01:50:25
4. David Plese SLO 01:51:25
5. Jan Janour CZE 01:51:48
Results: Elite Women
1. Deniz Dimaki GRE 02:00:22
2. Evgenia Sukhoruchenkova RUS 02:00:24
3. Anna Burova RUS 02:03:30
4. Jacqueline Slack GBR 02:03:39
5. Hila Maimon ISR 02:04:33
Results: Junior Women
1. Monika Mikova BUL 01:02:36
2. Dimitra Alifieraki GRE 01:04:29
3. Efthalia Vachli GRE 01:08:51
4. Jovana Crnogorac SRB 01:13:03
5. Ljudmila Radakovic SRB 01:14:40
Results: Junior Men
1. Vladimir Stojsavljevic SRB 00:57:09
2. Emil Stoynev BUL 00:58:22
3. Stefan Gadeiu ROU 00:59:00
4. Bojan Nikolovski MKD 01:01:49
5. Strahinja Trakic SRB 01:06:03
Tracker Pixel for Entry