Paralympic hopefuls set for Para Series opener in Devonport

by on 14 Mar, 2024 05:07 • Español
Paralympic hopefuls set for Para Series opener in Devonport

The Road to Paris continues for Paralympic hopefuls, as they gear up to take on the 2024 World Triathlon Para Series opener in Devonport, Australia, on Friday 15th March. With only ten races left before the Paralympic Qualification Period ends on July 1st, top para triathletes from around the globe arrive in Tasmania, vying for crucial ranking points. The stakes are high with the top para triathletes clinching quota spots for their nations.

Fresh off their wins in the recent Oceania Triathlon Para Championships in Stockton and ready to race on home soil again, Nic Beveridge (PTWC), Sam Harding (PTVI), Thomas Goodman (PTS2), Jeremy Peacock (PTS4), Jack Howell (PTS5), Anu Francis (PTS2), Grace Brimelow (PTS4), and Maggie Sandles (PTVI) are looking to continue their strong starts to the season. Glen Jarvis (PTS2), David Bryant (PTS5), Justin Godfrey (PTS3), Liam Twomey (PTS4), Sally Pilbeam (PTS4) and Caroline Baird (PTVI) round out the impressive line-up of Aussies. Australian athletes can secure automatic nominations for those ranking within the top five in their respective categories.

With newfound confidence, Jack Howell (PTS5) will take on the World Triathlon Para Series opener following his first Continental-level triumph in Stockton – a win that propelled him up three spots to sixth in the Paralympic Qualification rankings.

Gwladys Lemoussu (FRA) earned the victory in the World Triathlon Para Cup Taranto to cap her 2023 season and will be hunting the top step in the World Triathlon Para Series opener in Devonport this weekend.

In the men’s PTVI category, Spain’s Jose Luis García Serrano will be the main contender as he starts his season in Australia. Serrano earned gold in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Cup Malaga which closed his strong 2023 season.

USA’s McClain Hermes will headline the women’s PTVI category and has arrived into Australia in brilliant form after securing the silver medal in the 2024 Americas Paratriathlon Championships Miami last weekend.

The battles will be fierce in the men’s PTS4 category with Australia’s Jeremy Peacock and USA’s Carson Clough going head to head in a stacked field. Australia’s Liam Twomey will also prove a threat in the race.

Spain’s Camille Seneclauze and Australia’s Grace Brimelow are the race favourites in the women’s PTS4 category. Brimelow secured gold in the 2024 Oceania Triathlon Para Championships Stockton and is motivated towards the Paris 2024 Paralympics start line.

Nico Van Der Burgt of the Netherlands had a tremendous 2023 season earning bronze in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Cup Paris, the national title in the 2023 NED Paratriathlon National Championships, fourth place in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Championships Pontevedra and the silver medal in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Cup Malaga. Van Der Burgt is the main medal prospect in the men’s PT23 category and will be challenged by the likes of Australia’s Justin Godfrey and Frenchman Michael Herter.

Ireland’s Cassie Cava secured gold in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Cup Malaga and silver in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Cup Taranto and will be vying for the top of the women’s PTS3 podium in Devonport.

Australia’s Anu Francis and USA’s Allysa Seely are marked as medal favourites in the women’s PTS2 category. Francis secured the title in the 2024 Oceania Triathlon Para Championships Stockton.

Spain’s Lionel Morales is the favourite in the men’s PTS2 category after earning gold in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Cup Malaga and fourth place in the 2023 World Triathlon Para Championships Pontevedra.

Australia’s Nic Beveridge and Italy’s Giovanni Achenza are no strangers to the race course and will be fixed on a heated battle in the men’s PTWC field on Friday, with valuable points for the taking and qualification for Paris 2024 in sight. Beveridge is currently number two in the World Triathlon Paralympic Qualification Ranking while Achenza is currently fourth.

With Australia’s Paralympian and world champion Lauren Parker not in this week’s race, Spain’s Eva Maria Moral Pedrero is the gold medal prospect in the women’s PTWC field.

Devonport Triathlon will run from Friday, March 15th through Sunday, March 17th, 2024, headlined by the World Triathlon Para Series. Additionally, the weekend in Devonport will feature the Oceania Triathlon Sprint Championships, Oceania Triathlon Mixed Relay Championship, Australian Elite Sprint Championships, and age group events.

Friday, March 15 – from 1:30 pm AEST
Review full start lists
To view the World Triathlon Paralympic Games Qualification Rankings, click here.
To view the 2024 Paris Paralympic Games Nomination Criteria, click here.

Related Event: 2024 World Triathlon Para Series Devonport
15 Mar, 2024 • event pageall results
Results: PTVI Women
1. Anja Renner B3 GER 01:10:05
2. Alison Peasgood B2 GBR 01:11:08
3. Judith MacCombe B3 IRL 01:11:22
4. Anna Barbaro B1 ITA 01:12:15
5. Vita Oleksiuk B1 UKR 01:13:34
Results: PTS5 Women
1. Gwladys Lemoussu FRA 01:12:22
2. Marta Dzieciątkowska POL 01:13:58
3. Alisa Kolpakchy UKR 01:14:12
4. Andrea Miguelez Ranz ESP 01:14:25
5. Emilie Gral FRA 01:15:37
Results: PTS4 Women
1. Grace Brimelow AUS 01:16:16
2. Megan Richter GBR 01:17:29
3. Camille Seneclauze FRA 01:17:57
4. Elke Van Engelen GER 01:19:35
5. Sally Pilbeam AUS 01:19:36
Results: PTS3 Women
1. Cassie Cava IRL 01:23:59
Results: PTS2 Women
1. Anu Francis AUS 01:20:45
2. Allysa Seely USA 01:22:16
3. Yukako Hata JPN 01:27:25
Results: PTWC Women
1. Eva María Moral Pedrero H1 ESP 01:10:58
2. Brenda Osnaya Alvarez H1 MEX 01:13:02
3. Melissa Nicholls H1 GBR 01:13:24
4. Emelia Perry H1 USA 01:14:07
5. Margret Ijdema H1 NED 01:15:22
Results: PTVI Men
1. Antoine Perel B1 FRA 01:01:17
2. Oscar Kelly B3 GBR 01:02:32
3. Satoru Yoneoka B1 JPN 01:03:27
4. Sam Harding B3 AUS 01:03:56
5. Jose Luis García Serrano B1 ESP 01:04:31
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Jack Howell AUS 01:00:39
2. Bence Mocsari HUN 01:01:50
3. David Bryant AUS 01:02:11
4. Jairo Ruiz Lopez ESP 01:02:25
5. Antoine Besse FRA 01:04:06
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Michael Taylor GBR 01:05:05
2. Jeremy Peacock AUS 01:06:14
3. Finley Jakes GBR 01:06:44
4. Carson Clough USA 01:07:06
5. Liam Twomey AUS 01:07:50
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Nico Van Der Burgt NED 01:11:36
2. Henry Urand GBR 01:13:29
3. Michael Herter FRA 01:17:46
4. Justin Godfrey AUS 01:18:05
5. Daniel Wyss SUI 01:23:15
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →