ITU re-schedules Yokohama event for September

by Paula Kim on 16 May, 2011 05:07 • Español
ITU re-schedules Yokohama event for September

The International Triathlon Union (ITU), the worldwide governing body for triathlon, today announced the Yokohama round of the 2011 Dextro Energy Triathlon ITU World Championship Series has been re-scheduled for Monday 19 September, 2011.  The event was originally slated for 14-15 May but was postponed due to safety concerns in the aftermath of the earthquake. 

“The ITU is grateful to a number of parties for working together on finding a new date for the event, in particular, we would like to thank the Japan Triathlon Union (JTU), the City of Yokohama and the Japanese Olympic Committee,” said Marisol Casado, ITU President and IOC Member.  “We are confident a world class event will be delivered in Yokohama on its new date.”

The event schedule will be:
Sunday 18 September – Paratriathlon & Age-Group
Monday 19 September – Elite Women & Elite Men

World Championship Series points accrued in Yokohama will count towards the 2012 rankings as the 2011 ITU World Champions will still be crowned at the Grand Final in Beijing on 10-11 September as originally planned. 

Both elite races will be broadcast live to a worldwide television audience and the event will feature a $150,000 USD total prize purse.  However, the year-end bonus pool of $500,000 USD will still be determined immediately after the Grand Final in Beijing.

The Olympic Qualification points from the Yokohama event will be re-inserted into the first period of Olympic Qualification. 

Click here for more information on the two periods of Olympic Qualification

Article gallery
Related Event: 2011 Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship Series Yokohama
19 Sep, 2011 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Andrea Hewitt NZL 01:59:17
2. Emma Moffatt AUS 01:59:30
3. Kate Mcilroy NZL 01:59:44
4. Aileen Reid IRL 01:59:48
5. Emma Jackson AUS 01:59:57
Results: Elite Men
1. Joao Silva POR 01:49:21
2. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:49:35
3. Dmitry Polyanskiy RUS 01:50:04
4. Simon Whitfield CAN 01:50:14
5. Matt Chrabot USA 01:50:15
Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →