ITU President Marisol Casado and ITU Secretary General Loreen Barnett win re-election

by Paula Kim on 23 Oct, 2012 06:36 • Español

At the 25th ITU Congress in Auckland, Marisol Casado of Spain has been re-elected as President of the International Triathlon Union (ITU), earning another four-year term. Loreen Barnett of Canada has also won another 4-year term after being re-elected as Secretary General of ITU, ensuring that ITU remains the only International Federation in the Olympic Games with women at the top two leadership roles. 

In the Vice-President race, Antonio Alvarez of Mexico, Sarah Springman of Great Britain and Bill Walker of Australia were all re-elected.

Three members to the ITU Executive Board were re-elected including Ria Damgren Nilsson of Sweden, Ahmed Nasser of Egypt, and Shin Otsuka of Japan. Debbie Alexander of South Africa was also elected to the Executive Board for the first time.

ITU Election results
President – Marisol Casado (ESP)
Secretary General – Loreen Barnett (CAN)
Vice-Presidents – Sarah Springman (GBR), Bill Walker (AUS), Antonio Alvarez (MEX)
Executive Board – Debbie Alexander (RSA), Ria Damgren Nilsson (SWE), Ahmed Nasser (EGY), Shin Otsuka (JPN)

In all, 109 National Federations were represented at the 25th ITU Congress, held at the Viaduct Events Centre in Auckland.  The ITU Congress closed a highly successful week at the Grand Final of the 2012 ITU World Triathlon Series in which Lisa Norden (SWE) and Jonathan Brownlee (GBR) were crowned the 2012 ITU World Champions.

Coaches Committee
Ben Bright (GBR)
Eligio Cervantes (MEX)
Philippe Fattori (FRA)
Joan Mayol (ESP)
Lindsey Parry (RSA)
Shaun Stephens (AUS)   
Hideki Yamane (JPN)

Constitution Committee
Gale Bernhardt (USA)
Patrice Brunet (CAN)
Johan Druwe (BEL)
Stephen Holmes (CAN)
Philippe Renz (SUI)
Bernard Saint-Jean (FRA)
Credentials Committee
Piedad Ulloa (ECU)
Sheila O’Kelly (CAN)
Gerardo Zetina (MEX)

Medical and Anti-Doping Committee
Dr. Humberto Aguilar (MEX)
Dr. Bo Berglund (SWE)   
Dr. Lanre Glover (NGR)
Dr. Doug Hiller (USA)
Dr. Toshihito Katsumura (JPN)
Dr. Sergio Migliorini (ITA)
Dr. Lothar Schwarz (GER)

MultiSport Committee
Eugène Kraus (LUX)
Jeff Dyrek (USA)
Chris Kitchen (GBR)
Luc Landriault (CAN)   
Lourdes Mata (MEX)   
Tom Pryde (NZL)   
Cornelio Serrano (ECU)

Paratriathlon Committee
Jon Beeson (USA)
Grant Darby (CAN)
Alicia Garcia Perez (ESP)
Murray Hilder (AUS)
Alfred Lipp (GER)
Neil MacLeod (ITA)
Rob Noordzij (NED)

Technical Committee
Dirk Bogaert (BEL)
Jaime Cadaval (MEX)
Joyce Donaldson (USA)
Dominique Frizza (FRA)
Jorge Garcia (ESP) 
Bela Varga (HUN)
Howard Vine (GBR)

Women’s Committee
Nelly Becerra (MEX)
Lori Ebbesen (CAN)
Marie Fatayi-Williams (NGR)
Susan Haag (USA)
Rosalina P. Joson (PHI)
Sharon Oakley (RSA)
Tomoko Wada (JPN)

Click here for more on ITU Congress

Tracker Pixel for Entry
Latest News
more news →